Getting Started

“Take a deep breath, lean over the edge of the boat, and just let yourself fall into the water.”

My heart stopped at the suggestion.  I didn’t know what I was doing.  Would I sink or float?  Would the awkward oxygen tank on my back really let me breathe – even underwater?  What if my mask filled with water?  What if I went too deep?  What if I got separated from my instructor?  What if I panicked…even more than I was panicking at that moment?

My mind whirled with endless “What if?” questions and I regretted my decision to sign up for a Scuba Diving excursion.  But then, I relented.  I relaxed.  I regained a bit of confidence.

Maybe it was the fact I didn’t want to waste the money I’d already paid.  Maybe I didn’t want to embarrass myself in front of the small group eagerly waiting their turn to throw themselves off the boat.  Maybe, just maybe, I thought I could do it.

And so I did.

Taking a deep breath, I leaned over the edge of the boat, and slowly, carefully, I let myself fall into the water.

And I began scuba diving.

And so it is with blogging.  Take a deep breath.  Lean into it.  And just let yourself go.  You can do this!

 

Leave a Reply

