A Cookie a Day Keeps the Doctor Away

Everybody has a food that makes them feel good. For me, nothing is better than a warm, fresh-out-of-the-oven, cookie. That hot, baked cookie that my mom or grandma gave me always gave me the feeling that I was loved. Join me in my blog to learn how to make your own cookies with love.

I first learned to make these cookies in my freshman baking class. After trying them and seeing how easy they were to make, I couldn’t wait to make them for my family.

Ingredients:

2 ¾ cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1/2 cup shortening

8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

1 ½ cups sugar, plus 3 tablespoons

2 large eggs

1 tablespoon cinnamon

Directions:

Sift the flour, baking soda, and salt into a bowl.

With a standing mixer, beat together the shortening and butter. Add the 1 ½ cups sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add the eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the flour mixture and blend until smooth.

Mix the 3 tablespoons sugar with the cinnamon in a small bowl. Roll the dough by hand, into 1 ½ inch balls. Roll the balls in the cinnamon sugar. Flatten the balls into ½ inch thick disks, spacing them evenly on unlined cookie sheets. Bake cookies until light brown but still moist in the center, about 12 minutes. Cool on a rack.

Enjoy!

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do! It is a really simple dessert to whip up and is a lot of fun to make and share with friends and family.

What are some of your favorite desserts to bake? Or not bake? No bake desserts are great, especially when you’re without an oven. If you need some motivation I would recommend a couple minutes (or hours) on Pinterest! Let me know what your favorite traditional or new recipe is to make!

 

Riley W.

One thought on “A Cookie a Day Keeps the Doctor Away

Leave a Reply

