Stages of a Hero

A denotative definition of a hero is a person who is admired for great or brave acts or fine qualities. What is a hero to me? They are amazing people who influence others significantly or are a great impact in your lives. Heroes have many good qualities, but of course like everyone else on earth; they are not perfect. They are a genuine people and real to you and others. A hero to me is someone who is always there for you. A person who is honest, a leader, loyal, and trustworthy. I don’t believe anyone can save the world, that’s just impossible. Heroes to me are not superheroes like you see in the movies, but are meaningful people in my life.
A little kid’s definition of a hero would be a mythological or legendary figure often of divine descent endowed with great strength or ability. When we are little everyone’s “hero” is Spiderman, Batman, or Captain America. The superheroes in movies seem so fake; I never saw them as who I wanted to be when I was a kid. Superheroes in movies are like romance in movies, both are neither believable nor realistic. The only thing I wanted of theirs were their powers, because who wouldn’t want superpowers? I didn’t have to the desire to be like them though. There wasn’t anything really special about them. When I was little I saw my mom as more of a “superhero” than people in movies. It was the little things like kissing a boo-boo, tucking me in at night, or just giving me my favorite binky. People create tragedies; heroes repair the pieces.
As we grow older we start to look at real life people such as, moms, dads, or even siblings. In some cases celebrities are people’s heroes, but I see that as more of just an inspiration to succeed like those individuals. There are many people in my life that I see as heroes. One of the people that have greatly impacted my life is Marlo. We’ve known each other for almost and she is a mother to me. She has greatly affected my life in many ways. She has all the qualities to be a hero; my hero. Marlo is a mother and friend to me. I want to be as good as a mother as her, but that is probably impossible.
A few months back I went to Marlo and said “Mama Margo, in no way, shape or form I am ready for college.” She replied back to me “There is nothing to be worried about, you are not far from home, and you have the necessities to survive. If you get hungry, nervous, or just need someone to talk to; I am always here.” She helped me get through a big change in life, and she knew just what to say; like always. I honestly don’t know where I would be if I didn’t have her in my life; supporting, pushing, and cheering me on to be the greatest I can be.
When I am older I hope to be a hero to people. Motivate others to be like me and keep the hero tradition increasing from what I have learned. I hope to make a difference in people’s lives and influence them to be the best you can be. I also hope to still be learning and growing from people. There are stereotypes that older folks are heroes, but the younger generations can be a hero.
My hero took me in as her own. Without Marlo even knowing she has greatly influenced me and how I want to be when I am an adult. The idea of having someone who is that remarkable and courageous gives people hope, and something to strive to be like. Everyone looks at this woman in question as a human being; I look at this hero in question of being invincible.

Leave a Reply

