Inconvient Troubles and Recovery

Have you ever had something not go the way you wanted? Have an unexpected circumstance occur out of the blue? Well you are not alone. Every human being in the world has had this happen to them at least one time in their life. Granted some obstacles are a little harder to overcome than others, however it’s not about the severity of the trouble that throws itself at you in the most inconvenient time; it’s about how you respond both mentally and physically.

Just over a year ago, my brother, 14, tried to commit suicide in the basement of our home after school. He decided that he didn’t fit into this rough world and had made a noose, hung it from the ceiling with a stool waiting underneath to be kicked out from underneath helpless, swinging feet of a fourteen year old that had experienced so much pain that he would take his own life.

Luckily, my mom, who is a flight for life nurse, had been dismissed early from her shift that day; which in itself is a rarity for her to be home when my brother gets out of school. When she walked into the house around 3:30 and my brother usually gets home around that time but she couldn’t find him, unaware of his intentions. Now she worried. Is he out about with his buddies without telling anyone, which is what it usually was.

Right when she was going to make an angry phone call to him, she realized she didn’t check the basement. No one ever goes down there due to all the junk we store down there. When she trotted down the stairs, she found him there standing on the stool, eyes full of tears and terror, ready to rid himself of the world.

I received a phone call from my dentist two days later, asking about an appointment my brother and I had scheduled and whether or not he was going to be able to go, being in the hospital and all. I had no idea any of this had happened.

You see my parents are divorced and I see my mom and brother about every two weeks. When I got this call from someone not in my family, I was on my way to a rivalry football game. Needless to say, it was an inconvenient time to find out your brother is hospitalized for an unknown reason from your dentist.

Shocked and angry, I called my mother. I demanded to know why my youngest and only sibling was in the hospital and why I didn’t know about it. My mom told me everything that had happened and said she didn’t want me to find out until I had a chance to see them in person.

She said my brother had told her to not tell me; because he was embarrassed and didn’t want me to know about it. He said he didn’t want me to be disappointed in him. I cried the entire bus ride to the game, in front of all my teammates and coaches, not caring about what they thought about it.

I wasn’t able to see my brother until that Sunday. He was admitted into a mental hospital and was heavily monitored like a criminal. He was forced to stay in solitary for 2 months with limited visitation.

As a family, we’re still going through therapy and recovering from the near death of my little brother. I wasn’t sure how I was going to be able to go on with my everyday life acting like I was okay, let alone how in the hell my brother was going to.

Somehow though, that young man became who I look up to. He got help from family, friends, and doctors and promised a change in his life. He did just that. He buckled down in school, helped at home, and most of worked to keep himself out of trouble to make sure that he never got that low ever again.

I guess the moral of the story is that there’s two ways to handle obstacles in life. You can let them beat you down and begin to crumble mentally and physically until you reach the bottom with no hope of recovering.

Or, you can learn from the troubles. If you use the obstacles as stepping-stones and keep from letting the hardship hold you back, you’ll notice that every obstacle that finds its way onto you path of life is no match for you. It can’t handle your knowledge, strength, and scars from the previous obstacles before it.

One thought on “Inconvient Troubles and Recovery

  1. grofcod,
    Your story really touched me. I thought it was organized and written well. That would have been really tough to find out that information from your dentist and not your family; especially at the time that you did. It takes a lot of courage to cry in front of everyone like that. I know that personally I hate crying in front of people. It’s great that your brother is getting help from the people he loves and hopefully on his way to a happy life.

    Thanks for sharing.

    C-Payne

Leave a Reply

